Menu

The Safe Zone program has been created to address the needs of our Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender students, faculty, staff and their allies. The program consists of training for students, faculty and staff to become safe zones. These individuals are there to listen and refer as well as be a safe space for others to share concerns, joys and experiences that they may not feel comfortable sharing in another setting.

For more information or to become a safe zone please contact:

Gregory Roberts
Phone: (812) 941-2584
Email: grobert3@ius.edu

In general, complaints involving discrimination based on sexual orientation should be investigated by the Director of Staff Equity & Diversity. To file a complaint, contact:

Office of Equity & Diversity
Phone: (812) 941-2599
Email: jjwilker@iu.edu

Safe Zone members are listed below:

Name Email Contact
Aimee Adams asedison@ius.edu
Annette Wyandotte awyandot@ius.edu
Basil Mumaw III bmumaw@ius.edu
Charles Pooser clpooser@ius.edu
Chris Lang wclang@ius.edu
Christine Thompson cclark01@ius.edu
Dana Gohmann * dgohmann@ius.edu
David Taylor dwtaylo2@ius.edu
Greg Phipps ghphipps@ius.edu
Greg Roberts * grobert3@ius.edu
James Hollenbeck jehollen@ius.edu
Jay McTyier jmctyier@ius.edu
Jean Abshire jeabshir@ius.edu
Kim Pelle kpelle@ius.edu
Leigh Ann Meyer lmeyer@ius.edu
Maria Accardi * maccardi@ius.edu
Matt Springer mtspring@ius.edu
Meghan Kahn * mckahn@ius.edu
Michael Day * micaday@ius.edu
Mildred Vernia mavernia@ius.edu
Mindy Badia mbadia@ius.edu
Monica Wise mswise@ius.edu
Rebecca Turner rebeturn@ius.edu
Rhonda Wrezenski rwrzensk@ius.edu
Robin Morgan rmorgan@ius.edu
Ron Severtis Jr. * rseverti@ius.edu
Sam Earley searley@ius.edu
Seuth Chaleunphonh schaleun@ius.edu

* Indicates Safe Zone Committee Member
** Indicates Safe Zone Committee Chair

Diversity Events

New Student Orientation

New Student Orientation

July 24th, 2024

9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Freedom From Smoking Group Clinic

Freedom From Smoking Group Clinic

July 31st, 2024

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

New Student Orientation

New Student Orientation

August 6th, 2024

9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Student Organization Advisors Meeting

Student Organization Advisors Meeting

August 14th, 2024

10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

New Student Orientation

New Student Orientation

August 15th, 2024

9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

See All Events » Submit an Event »

Indiana University Southeast

4201 Grant Line Rd.
New Albany, IN 47150
(812) 941-2333

View the website in Español